The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India, which was first launched in 2008. At you can always place wagers on this competition.

The first edition of the IPL was held from April 18 to June 1, 2008, and consisted of eight teams representing different cities in India. The inaugural edition of the IPL was a huge success and attracted a lot of attention from cricket fans around the world. At the 1xBet platform you will find chances to bet on all teams who participate here as well.

Format of this great tournament

The tournament was played in a round-robin format, where each team played against each other twice, and the top four teams qualified for the semi-finals. The first match of the tournament was played between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Obtain now the beting app for Android to wager on these teams from the comfort of your phone too.

They played at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. KKR won the match by 140 runs, with Brendon McCullum smashing an unbeaten 158 runs off just 73 balls. This was the highest individual score in T20 cricket at that time. The best mobile software is the 1xBet betting app for Android, which bettors can download for free and get access to the entire cricket section of this site.

Great performances

The tournament was filled with exciting matches and moments, and some of the notable performances as well. Overall, all players contributed greatly for making the first season of the IPL an unforgettable competition. Discover now live scores, cricket betting odds and predictions, which also covers the IPL.

Some of the best performers were:

  • Shaun Marsh;
  • Shane Watson;
  • and Sohail Tanvir.

The final of the tournament was played between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to bat first, and they scored 164 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their 20 overs. Yusuf Pathan was the top scorer for Rajasthan Royals with 56 runs off 39 balls.

In response, the CSK were bowled out for 163 runs in 20 overs, falling short by just one run. Sohail Tanvir was the pick of the bowlers for Rajasthan Royals, taking 1 wicket for 26 runs in his 4 overs and was also named the Player of the Tournament. At 1xBet there are plenty of live scores, cricket betting odds and predictions, where the outstanding IPL is also covered.